Uncategorized

Sprucing Up a Boring Living Room with Mohawk Flooring

Mohawk Flooring

What do you do when you live in a small, boring, all white rental townhouse? My husband and I were asking ourselves that same question a couple months ago. We’ve lived in our home for 6 years now but we never really called it “a home”. The walls hadn’t been painted in 8+ years, the carpets were what I refer to as “Beige Rental Carpet” and the verticals blinds that were on the sliding door in the living room were hanging by a thread. (No, seriously! A couple were held on by paper clips!)

We first decided we HAD to paint the walls. Now, I’ve never painted any walls. I have to say that after painting…I hate it! Seriously, I know there are people out there that love it but I am not one of them! The prep, the work…UGH! But I have to say that the results are so much better than the before & I am thrilled with it!

Before Painting and Adding a Mohawk Flooring Area Rug
Mohawk Flooring

After
Mohawk Flooring

We knew though that painting the walls would make the “Beige Rental Carpet” look even worse. I contacted Mohawk Flooring to see if they would let me review one of their area rugs & they said YES! I was thrilled and couldn’t wait to start shopping. I made a list of all the rugs that I liked and showed them to my husband, hoping he would like at least one. Let’s just say, it was NOT an easy task. Mohawk has so many different choices in colors, patterns & sizes so that wasn’t the problem. The problem was agreeing on a rug with my husband! I may not be Martha Stewart but his idea of home decorating is 1990’s Native American chic. Need I say more?

Mohawk Flooring

We finally agreed on a beautiful area rug that is sold at Walmart for $125 in the 5ft x 8ft size. When it arrived at our home, I was worried it might not lay flat on the living room floor because it was shipped all rolled up. The carpet laid perfectly, with only one corner rolling up a bit. But after a couple days, it all laid perfectly flat. The Mohawk area rug is very soft and the kids love laying on it while they are watching TV or playing with Legos. This area rug has an action backing helping it to stay put on your floor, it’s stain-resistant and you can vacuum it like you do with your regular carpet.

Before: Ugly Table That Needed to Go Bye-Bye
Mohawk Flooring

After
Mohawk Flooring

So, after painting the walls, adding this great area rug to the floor, switching from an ugly, disorganized table to a much nicer looking desk and chair (because it’s not only a living room, it’s my blogging office too!), I have to say I think our living room is coming along quite nicely. We are still working on pieces for our walls & that’ll happen soon but I want to make sure it’s something we really love so we’ll keep looking.

Mohawk Flooring

Mohawk5

If you haven’t heard the name Mohawk Flooring, you’ve probably seen their area rugs on display in stores. They are carried in places like Target, Walmart, Home Depot, Lowe’s and many other stores. Mohawk sells floor coverings for every room in your home. From carpet to hardwood flooring to laminate (and more!), Mohawk Flooring has got you covered. They are  one of the world’s largest floor covering manufacturers and distributors and is a leading producer of yarn, ceramic tile, area rugs and bath mats. Plus, they now offer woven bedspreads, tapestries, pillows, throws and window blinds, too! With so many textures, colors, patterns and sizes, I’m certain you’ll be able to find something from Mohawk Flooring to make your home just a little more homey.

Mohawk Flooring

BuyItGiveawayTemplate

Ready to head on over & check out all the great floor coverings Mohawk Flooring has to offer? Head on over to their website to look around. You can find out more & follow them on Facebook, TwitterPinterest, HomeTalk & YouTube. You can also visit Mohawk Escapes, which is a great blog showing design & style ideas with Mohawk Flooring products. Don’t forget to subscribe for updates!

Related Post

204 Comments

  1. samantha s August 10, 2013
    • Tara August 10, 2013
  2. Diana Ward August 10, 2013
    • Tara August 10, 2013
  3. Jerri Davis August 10, 2013
    • Tara August 10, 2013
  4. lisa August 10, 2013
    • Tara August 10, 2013
  5. autumn kelly August 10, 2013
    • Tara August 10, 2013
  6. Debbie Johnson August 10, 2013
    • Tara August 10, 2013
  7. Sue Hull August 10, 2013
    • Tara August 10, 2013
  8. Cheryl Abdelnour August 10, 2013
    • Tara August 10, 2013
  9. Mary Withrow August 10, 2013
    • Tara August 10, 2013
  10. rebeccabasset August 10, 2013
  11. casey martz August 10, 2013
  12. adrienne warren August 11, 2013
  13. Sandy VanHoey August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  14. Sherry Compton August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  15. gc August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  16. sandra davis August 11, 2013
  17. cheryl August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  18. Kat Emerick August 11, 2013
  19. Karey Smith August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  20. Faith Bosnick August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  21. Michele R. August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  22. william saylor August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  23. lynn cook August 11, 2013
  24. Bailey-Eileen Parr August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  25. Stephanie Phelps August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  26. martha August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  27. cylina williams August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  28. Sophia Carr August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  29. Cheryl Chervitz August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  30. angie August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  31. Melissa M. Miller August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  32. Dorothy Teel August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  33. Terri K (@tkharmonic) August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  34. Tammy Woodall August 11, 2013
  35. chelsea August 11, 2013
  36. tia albright August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  37. Barbara Cerwinske August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  38. willis flanagan August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  39. Tammy S August 11, 2013
  40. Laura Miller August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  41. Mary Collins August 11, 2013
    • Tara August 11, 2013
  42. Cynthia Brooks August 11, 2013
  43. amber whitehead August 11, 2013
  44. Cynthia Sizemore August 11, 2013
  45. Jenny Lloyd August 12, 2013
  46. Karen M. August 12, 2013
  47. carla bonesteel August 12, 2013
  48. Cassie Korando August 12, 2013
  49. Pingback: 30 Days of Giveaways Day 23: Mohawk Flooring August 12, 2013
  50. Emilie C August 12, 2013
  51. Helga August 12, 2013
  52. Nicole Carter August 12, 2013
  53. Sylvia Zajis August 12, 2013
  54. Chuck August 12, 2013
  55. Christina Graham August 12, 2013
  56. Tammy S August 12, 2013
  57. kathy dunavant August 12, 2013
  58. Maria @ A Savings WOW! August 12, 2013
  59. Maria @ A Savings WOW! August 12, 2013
  60. Maureen G August 12, 2013
  61. Ashley Smith August 12, 2013
  62. Rachel August 12, 2013
  63. Jamie Martin August 12, 2013
  64. M.Clark August 12, 2013
  65. Deb August 12, 2013
  66. LEslie Rigsby August 12, 2013
  67. Carol Trautwein August 12, 2013
  68. mell August 12, 2013
  69. Hope August 12, 2013
  70. Georgia Beckman August 12, 2013
  71. Linda Petteys August 12, 2013
  72. Brandi Goolsby August 13, 2013
    • Tara August 13, 2013
  73. Lu Worley August 13, 2013
  74. sherry lareau August 13, 2013
  75. Laura11 August 13, 2013
  76. Kitty August 13, 2013
  77. Tammy Graham @ LoveMy2Dogs August 14, 2013
  78. Tina Eiser August 14, 2013
  79. Cathy Frith August 14, 2013
  80. krista grandstaff August 14, 2013
  81. Leslie W August 14, 2013
  82. Jon R August 14, 2013
  83. Jennifer Daniell August 14, 2013
    • Tara August 14, 2013
  84. Allyson Tice August 15, 2013
  85. nicolthepickle August 15, 2013
  86. Linda Szymoniak August 15, 2013
  87. Harriet Wilson August 15, 2013
  88. Jeanna Wise August 16, 2013
  89. April Yedinak August 16, 2013
    • Tara August 16, 2013
  90. jennifer watts August 16, 2013
  91. Desiree Dunbar August 16, 2013
  92. naina john August 16, 2013
    • Tara August 16, 2013
  93. Lauren Rochon August 16, 2013
    • Tara August 16, 2013
  94. jovon August 16, 2013
  95. Melanie August 16, 2013
  96. jeanne jewett August 17, 2013
  97. Tari Lawson August 17, 2013
  98. Michelle Spayde August 17, 2013
    • Tara August 17, 2013
  99. Naomi August 17, 2013
  100. Anna-Leigh August 17, 2013
  101. Suzanne K August 17, 2013
  102. Stephanie F. August 17, 2013
  103. Cindy S. August 17, 2013
  104. Jesi August 17, 2013
    • Tara August 17, 2013
  105. Robert Shank August 18, 2013
  106. Lisa B. August 18, 2013
  107. Barbara Platt August 19, 2013
    • Tara August 19, 2013
  108. Melissa S August 19, 2013
    • Tara August 19, 2013
  109. Amber Mejia August 19, 2013
  110. Karen August 19, 2013
  111. Heather McCormick August 19, 2013
  112. Linda Bradshaw August 19, 2013
  113. Tarah August 20, 2013
  114. Andrea F. August 20, 2013
  115. Kathy Lane August 20, 2013
  116. Jessica K. August 20, 2013
  117. Linda Kwolek August 20, 2013
  118. Pingback: Mohawk Home Rug Giveaway | Mom To Bed By 8 August 20, 2013
  119. Patty August 20, 2013
  120. Gary Tracey August 20, 2013
  121. Wanda Tracey August 20, 2013
  122. Angela W August 20, 2013
    • Tara August 20, 2013
  123. sandra davis August 21, 2013
  124. Cindy Brickley August 21, 2013
  125. Gail Williams August 21, 2013
  126. April Conn August 21, 2013
  127. Renee Hutchinson August 21, 2013
  128. Teresa August 21, 2013
    • Tara August 21, 2013
  129. deanna August 21, 2013
  130. Karen r August 21, 2013
  131. Auriette August 21, 2013
  132. DASHA August 22, 2013
  133. michele l August 22, 2013
  134. Tracy August 22, 2013
  135. Brandi Price August 22, 2013
  136. Sharon Fuentes August 22, 2013
  137. sheila ressel August 23, 2013
  138. Carla S August 23, 2013
  139. Kyla Hickey August 23, 2013
  140. desiree August 23, 2013
  141. Gaye M August 23, 2013
  142. David Carlson August 23, 2013
    • Tara August 23, 2013
  143. Christina Strapp August 23, 2013
  144. Gianna August 23, 2013
  145. Michael Lambert August 23, 2013
  146. Debra Gibbs August 24, 2013
  147. Kathy August 24, 2013
  148. lynn brannen August 24, 2013
  149. Lily Kwan August 24, 2013
  150. Susan Marina Brown Lane August 24, 2013
  151. Trisha McKee August 24, 2013
  152. Michelle S August 27, 2013
  153. Michelle Elizondo September 2, 2013
  154. Shirley Carr September 4, 2013
  155. Maria Iemma October 30, 2013
    • Tara October 30, 2013
  156. Shannon March 13, 2014
    • Tara March 14, 2014

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.